What is .NET Framework?

.NET Framework is a programming infrastructure that was developed by Microsoft. Its primary function is to build, deploy and run applications and services that use .NET technologies. This includes desktop applications, as well as web services. It is intended to run primarily on Microsoft Windows, but does have some support for other platforms.

The .NET Framework contains three major parts: the Common Language Runtime (CLR), the Framework Class Library (FCL), and ASP.NET.

The FCL is a large class library that provides language interoperability across several programming languages. Basically this means that each language can use code written in other languages. The CLR is an application virtual machine. It provides services such as security, memory management, and exception handling. The FCL and CLR together make up the .NET Framework.

ASP.NET is commonly clubbed together with the .NET Framework, as it has been constantly released along with it. ASP.NET is an open-source server-side web application framework. It is primarily designed for web development. It allows programmers to build dynamic web pages, web sites, web applications and web services.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.