What are the main components of .NET Framework?

There are two main components of .NET Framework: Common Language Runtime (CLR) and .Net Framework Class Library.

The Common Language Runtime (CLR) provides the runtime environment where all the .NET programs run. The CLR provides memory management and thread management for the programs that are running under it. The code that runs under CLR is called Common Language Runtime (CLR).

.Net Framework Class Library, also known as Base Class Library, is a large class library that provides language interoperability across several programming languages. Basically, it allows the use of code written in other programming languages.

Some of the other components of .NET Framework include:

  • Dynamic Language Runtimes (DLR)
  • Application Domains
  • Runtime Host
  • Common Type System
  • Metadata and Self-Describing Components
  • Cross-Language Interoperability
  • NET Framework Security

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.